Losing your voice.

I read an article not too long ago that I can’t find again for the life of me. As soon as I find it I will hyperlink it here. The concept behind the story though was fascinating. Essentially it said that writers are becoming so rule bound, so perfect, that they are effectively editing out any originality. They are editing out their own voices.

This concept is a breath of fresh air. In a world of tradecraft that has so many should and should nots, the idea of being able to throw them out the window and follow your gut is huge. Granted this probably appeals more to me, because I don’t actually know all of that tradecraft. I read, I know what I think makes a good book. I can feel it when my writing hits a particular point, where it just feels right.

Rules are there for a reason. I do think they should be followed. But some of the best things come from breaking the rules, or even just bending them. Just a bit. The article (still unfound) had several excellent examples of books that had broken some of the most well-known, set in stone rules writing has. And still been widely successful, well-loved, and popular.

I don’t plan on breaking many rules in my book. As far as I know, I’m not breaking any. Who knows though. I’m sure there are more than a few I haven’t learned yet. If anything I will just have to hope that I break the right rules.

Leave a Reply

