Outlining book 2.

While book #1 sits waiting for me to finally get around to publishing it (so close… I am so close)… I have really needed to be working on book 2. I’ve made some progress, but honestly not a whole lot. Part of me really wanted to release book 1 first to how it did before putting a significant amount of time and work on book 2. I think part of me thought that if book 1 did amazing (still holding out hope) that I would be super motivated for book 2.

Really, though that is a horrible plan for a couple of different reasons.

  1. I need to write book 2 anyways. It’s a personal thing, otherwise it will never feel done.
  2. Every forum, blog, tweet I have read about writing and publishing says that there is no better marketing strategy than getting book 2 out and quickly. Within 3 months quickly.

So I am trying to force the motivation for book 2. Let me tell you. It’s not easy going. The task ahead seems a bit overwhelming. I am going to work off of an outline this time around so finishing that has become the first task. While I know what the plot arc will be, mapping out each of the individual scenes has proven to be more difficult than I expected. It is hard to get an overall picture of how each portion of a scene will work together or lead into one another when I can’t even see the whole picture yet. I keep running into areas where my first question is should this scene come before that scene… and so on and so forth.

Ideally, I would like to get the rough draft hammered out as quickly as possible. Learning from the first book, I realize now that a huge amount of effort goes into editing the first draft, not necessarily writing the first draft. So the quicker I can get that done, the better shape I will be in to make that 90 day deadline (that I may or may not actually meet).

One thought on “Outlining book 2.

  1. I feel your pain. Really. Been there, and in a way, doing that 🙂

    Two thoughts:

    1. A big key to writing is enthusiasm for the project. What is it about book 2 that you love? Is there something that’s going to happen that you think is just incredible? (For me, every book I write has certain scenes that I just love to think about.) Start dwelling on one of those scenes. Let yourself get excited about it.

    2. I will concur completely with every other forum, blog, and tweet you’ve read. Getting that second book out is vitally important. Otherwise, your sales will plummet. On the other hand, there are some good things about just going ahead and publishing. Look, your entire publishing career does not rest on this book or this series. If you really want to be a success, you’re going to have to write a crapload of books (and trust me, that gets easier with each one). First though, you have to learn how to please your reader. Does your first book please readers? No way to know until you publish it and get actual feedback. I chose to publish my first book and learn from it. I found out what readers liked and what they didn’t. My second book, I think, is much better for the experience.

    Best of luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

