Mailing Lists.

Something I don’t have, but if I listen (which I should) to every piece of advice out there about self-publishing… I really should have one.

I do plan on getting one. I have started the process a couple of times. The only thing holding me back is the whole address thing. As in I don’t want to attach it to my physical address-which means setting up a PO box.

Now, I don’t have any issues with setting up a PO box, but as my SO so kindly (and very accurately) pointed out. I don’t exactly check the mailbox that is next to our house. Ever. So, setting up what would basically be another mailbox that I probably wouldn’t check just doesn’t seem worth it at this point.

At this time I am okay with not having a mailing list. I am well aware of the fact that I don’t have a following. In fact, the pool of people who know I write is exceedingly small. The pool of people who know about publishing is even smaller. Once I have a book up and running I will reassess to see if a mailing list is worth it.

This brings me to my next point/question/observation. Who subscribes to mailing lists and more importantly does anyone actually buy books because they are on a mailing list?!?

I ask only because I can count on one hand the number of mailing lists that I have subscribed too. Only one is an author mailing list and honestly, I subscribed more for his podcasts than his books. I’m not going to go out and say they don’t work, obviously they do for people to be so excited and adamant about them. They just don’t work for me so I have a hard time understanding the draw. If it was entirely 100% free and I either didn’t have to provide my address or have to get a PO box I would already have one. Honestly though its the same with having a business bank account, setting up an LLC, a real website, and all of the other things that might be good, that I will probably one day want (and maybe even regret not setting up earlier) but at this point seem unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

