Word Counts.

Right after I hit publish the other day… I went straight back into writing my current WIP. I didn’t even think twice about it. I have a schedule to keep and not a lot of time to keep it. Writing time is hard to come by. Normally, between work and kids its pretty much non-existent. Right now I have a unique opportunity with way more “me” time than I have had in a long time. I plan on making the most of it.

I set an aggressive writing schedule. 5k words per day. I have yet to hit it…. but I am getting closer. The goal is to get several first drafts hashed out over the next couple of months. Preferably I would like to get at least one additional book published.

Yesterday I hit 1,000 words. Which is progress. Not as much as I would like, but progress nonetheless. I am using a combination of typing and dictation. Dictation is still super slow. Partly because my mind just doesn’t work in a way that facilitates dictation yet, and partly because apparently dragons and I don’t get along. There is some training that still needs to be done.

Either way. For a very short period here in my life I get to experience what it would be like to be a full time writer. I love it. I mean I absolutely love it. Except for the no income part. That part is a bit of a downer. I was hoping that the 0 sales thing was a glitch. That I would wake up this morning to a couple dozen of sales. Nope. That and I caved and bought my own book. I thought it would be a good experiment to see how long it took the buy to show up in the Kindle reports… verdict=maybe 15 min. So. Consider that bubble burst. 🙂

Anyways. Back to writing. I will worry about my books ending up in publishing purgatory later.

Leave a Reply

