I need an outline.

If you happen to remember. I swore that I would write this next book with an outline. The plan was to followish the Take Off Your Pants book by Libby Hawker. For whatever reason, while I loved the book, the outline method described just isn’t working for me.

I think a large part of this is due to the fact that I trained with academic outlines. Which are very (very) different. This isn’t necessarily a good thing because academic writing follows a very different bell curve so to speak than creative writing does. Academic writing is kinda flat, there isn’t really a plot, you don’t have to worry about character development, the 3 act structure, subplots, etc. Instead for the most part you introduce an idea and spend the rest of the paper explaining said idea. Much easier (in my opinion).

Here’s the problem. When I don’t know what comes next I get stuck. In fact I am currently stuck. And you know what happens when I get stuck? I stop writing. Yep. Pretty much the worst thing ever. It usually happens in the middle where I am not exactly sure how to get from point A to point B. I know how it begins. I know how it ends. I can’t quite visualize the middle yet though.

And it’s not like I haven’t tried to do an outline. But if I can’t visualize it (aka I have no freaking clue what is going to happen) how can I possibly outline it? Chicken meet egg.

I think for a bit I am going to try a hybrid approach. Write in the morning, outline at night. Basically this way I will be outlining the next few sections as they get closer. I’m not sure this will work, but I am willing to put forth a solid effort towards making it work.

Leave a Reply

