Thank goodness for the internet.

There are so many reasons that I am grateful for the internet (self publishing anyone?)

But I am particularly grateful at the moment because of the research it allows me to do from the warmth and comfort of my couch.

My current WIP takes place in DC. I have been before (loved it) and I have visited a number of the buildings that I am now including in the book. Which helps, but there are still gaps. How a building is specifically laid out, for example. What building materials did they use? What does the ceiling of the lobby look like? I’m sure I looked at all of these things… but not in enough detail to be 100% sure when later writing.

I have googled some pretty obscure building details at this point. Things I wasn’t even sure I would be able to find out online… and sure enough I would always be able to find them. If there wasn’t an article somewhere there was at least a you tube video (thank goodness for tourist videos!).

It’s not that I wouldn’t love to use writing a book to justify a vacation. But it’s just not always practical. This way I can make the writing more realistic without breaking the bank.

Leave a Reply

