Don’t write hungry.

We writers seem to be high maintenance creatures. Or maybe it’s just my muse. I’m not sure. All I know is that I can’t write when I’m uncomfortable.

Current physical issue. I’m hungry.

I’m also tired. But I think you can guess which one takes priority.

This to some degree cuts across most things. As much as I would love to say that I can write anywhere, in any conditions, no matter what… I’m not exactly sure that is the case. I mean maybe I could. If really pushed. But I have a slight hunch that I would probably want to sleep instead.

And don’t even get me started on writing in a dirty house. Or an uncomfortable chair. Or when I’m cold. Or hot.

Some days I’m surprised I get any writing done.

It’s not always like this. When the writing comes easy… everything flows. Where I am, how I’m feeling, whats going on around me… all of it just melts away. I know exactly what I want to write, where my story is going, I can see it playing out and I just want to get it down on paper. Getting to that point though, thats another thing. Staying there (ha). Not sure my muse would even consider it.

So for now. I need food. And sleep. And a clean house…. not necessarily in that order.

Happy writing.

One thought on “Don’t write hungry.

Leave a Reply

