Editing.

Have I mentioned how much I dislike editing? Yes? No? Well, I’m not sure if I have or haven’t but yeah, editing is not my favorite. In a way I like parts of it. I like that feeling of all of the little pieces coming together. When all of the words feel just right or the plot twist you had planned falls into place perfectly. Thats the good part.

The bad part is when the massive amount of words seems overwhelming. When you change something on page 98 and your 99% sure that because of that you also have to change something on page 35, no wait, maybe it was 42, no, maybe- well you get the idea. It’s tedious, and meticulous and for whatever reason I really struggle with doing it in a purely electronic format. I prefer hardcopy, red ink in the margins editing… which would be fine if it wasn’t slightly less expensive to routinely print out sections of the book for editing. Let’s not even talk about the number of trees that end up being sacrificed for the cause either.

Needless to say I am trying to become a reformed, more environmentally conscious editor. Trying being the operative word there, but hey progress is progress right. Unless you are completely sleep deprived in which case you are probably like me and not making any progress at all.

In other (not editing or writing related news) the instafreebie experiment was a success. Or at least I think it was. 856 samples were downloaded, I ended up with slightly less emails because initially I had made it 100% voluntary. The logic there was that I didn’t want to force anyone to sign up for emails that they weren’t really interested in. My email inbox is seriously out of control so I felt like I would be a hypocrite destroying the inboxes of others. That said, the opt in rate was low. Less than 10% low. I don’t plan on doing newsletters, or any type of regular emails. The only emails I plan on sending is to announce a new release. Personally, I don’t have an issue with people who want to unsubscribe. I’m slightly concerned about having a high unsubscribe rate initially which apparently the mailing list companies frown on (though I for the life of me do not understand why… people unsubscribe… people subscribe…. whatever). In the world of scam/phishing/junk emails… an author newsletter doesn’t seem like that big of a deal. But hey whatever. It’s enough to make me considering manually sending out emails. Almost.

Anyways. Back to editing. T-13 days to meeting a deadline.

Leave a Reply

