Waiting…. to publish.

They say that waiting is the hardest part. I for one, completely agree. I am 99.9% ready to publish. I have a professional, genre appropriate cover. A book that has gone through 3 separate edits. A blurb. A tag line. I set up my book in kindle, figured out my keywords, price, genre……

And yet. For all of that I still feel completely and totally unprepared. Book 2 isn’t done (22,500 words and counting), I have no idea where to market the book at, how to set up ads, I don’t have a street team, or ARC’s or…. well you get the idea.

Partly, all of this is okay. I do think a lot of it will work itself out. Book 2 will get written (progress is going well), and it is much easier to market a book that is already published than one not published yet at all. All that to say though, my biggest concern is that I won’t give my book the opportunity it needs purely because I don’t know how to market it correctly.

Bad writing is one thing. A boring book, a plot full of holes, unbelievable characters. All of this I can understand. I spent time learning this, I did the bad drafts, the horrible first books that desperately need a rewrite (or a rock, to hide under). Marketing though, not an area that I am as familiar with. I can learn, and I plan to, but in the meantime I feel unprepared. I don’t know if there is anyway to prepare other than to jump in, feet first. I have been standing on the sidelines, reading the forums, asking questions, looking for any piece of advice that might apply. It’s answered a lot of questions, but there are still gaps, ones that I don’t think will be answered by anything other than….. hitting that publish button, seeing what happens and reacting from there.

My goal, was and is, to publish this book in July. A goal I fully plan on making. So whether or not it is this next week or the week after, either way… it’s going to happen.

So anyways. Thats things lately. If you have been wondering what I’ve been up to lately…. it’s primarily involved stalking facebook author groups, writing, and laundry. So. much. laundry.

2 thoughts on “Waiting…. to publish.

  1. I understand where you’re coming from, I’m in the same situation. There is so much to publishing a book it gets overwhelming. Just keep plugging away and you’ll get there in no time. Best of luck!

    Like

    1. Sooo involved. Just when I think I’m making progress on my to do list I find something else that I was probably supposed to do months ago 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

